Arch Dalrymple III Department of History

University of Mississippi

20th Century

Mikaela Adams
Mikaëla M. Adams

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Native American Citizenship, 19th- and 20th-century South
Bishop Hall 337 | 662-915-1332
mmadams@olemiss.edu


Oliver Dinius

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies
Ph.D, Harvard University
Labor and Political Economy, Modern Brazil
Croft Institute 315 | 662-915-3791
dinius@olemiss.edu

UMlogo
Chiarella Esposito

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, SUNY Stony Brook
Economy and Diplomacy, 20th-century France and Italy
Bishop Hall 314 | 662-915-7568
esposito@olemiss.edu

field
Garrett Felber

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, University of Michigan
African American History and Critical Prison Studies, 20th-century America 
felber@olemiss.edu

First
Joshua First

Croft Assistant Professor of History & International Studies
Ph.D, University of Michigan
History of Cinema, Modern Russia
Bishop Hall 317 | 662-915-6946
jfirst@olemiss.edu

SGS-Bio-Pic-2
Shennette Garrett-Scott

Assistant Professor of History & African American Studies
Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin
African American Business and Gender, 19th- and 20th-century South
Longstreet Hall 304 | 662-915-2685
smgscott@olemiss.edu


Darren E. Grem

Assistant Professor of History & Southern Studies
Ph.D, University of Georgia
Religion and Capitalism, 20th-century South
Bishop Hall 328B | 662-915-7734
degrem@olemiss.edu

howard
Joshua H. Howard

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies
Ph.D, University of California, Berkeley
Labor and Revolution, Modern China
Bishop Hall 313 | 662-915-5749
jhhoward@olemiss.edu

Ibrahim1
Vivian Ibrahim

Croft Assistant Professor of History & International Studies
Ph.D, University of London
Religion and Political Culture, Modern Egypt
Bishop Hall 317 | 662-915-1991
vibrahim@olemiss.edu

faculty-300x267
Zachary Kagan Guthrie

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Princeton University.
Labor and Development Studies, Modern Mozambique
Bishop Hall 309A | 662-915-3314
zkguthri@olemiss.edu


Theresa H. Levitt

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, Harvard University
History of Science and Technology, Enlightenment and  Revolutionary France
Bishop Hall 305 | 662-915-3792
tlevitt@olemiss.edu


Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Empire and Class, Modern Britain
Bishop Hall 312
aslindgr@olemiss.edu


Rebecca Marchiel

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Urban History and Capitalism, 20th-century America
Bishop Hall 304 | 662-915-5360
rkmarchi@olemiss.edu


Ted M. Ownby

Professor of History & Southern Studies & Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Ph.D, Johns Hopkins University
Religion and Popular Culture, 19th- and 20th-century South
Barnard Observatory 209 | 662-915-5993
hsownby@olemiss.edu

payne
Elizabeth A. Payne

Professor of History
Ph.D, University of Illinois at Chicago
Women and Religion, 19th- and 20th-century South,
Bishop Hall 320 | 662-915-7629
epayne@olemiss.edu


Eva Payne

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Harvard University
Gender and Sexuality, 19th- and 20th-century America
ebpayne@olemiss.edu


Jarod Roll

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Labor and Social Movements, 19th- and 20th-century America
Bishop Hall 305 | 662-915-TBD
jhroll@olemiss.edu

ross
Charles K. Ross

Associate Professor of History & Director of the African American Studies Program
Ph.D, Ohio State University
African-American Sports, 20th-century South
Longstreet Hall 309 | 662-915-5977
cross@olemiss.edu

faculty-2-200x300
Jessica Wilkerson

Assistant Professor of History & Southern Studies
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Gender and Social Movements, 20th-century South
Bishop Hall 318 | 662-915-6945
jcwilker@olemiss.edu