Arch Dalrymple III Department of History

University of Mississippi

Emeriti

H. Dale Abadie
Dean Emeritus of the College of Liberal Arts & Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Britain and the Empire, European History
hdabadie@bellsouth.net

Charles W. Eagles
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
History of Civil Rights
eagles@olemiss.edu

Kees Gispen
Professor Emeritus of History & Executive Director Emeritus of the Croft Institute for International Studies
Ph.D., University of California, Berkley
gispen@olemiss.edu

Bob Haws
Associate Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Nebraska
hshaws@olemiss.edu

Michael Landon
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison
Tudor-Stuart England, Legal and Constitutional history, and African history
hslandon@olemiss.edu

Fred Laurenzo
Associate Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana
hsfel@olemiss.edu

Michael Metcalf
Associate Provost Emeritus for International Affairs and Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden
18th-Century Scandinavian History
Chinese Language Flagship Program Committee Member
mmetcalf@olemiss.edu

Michael V. Namorato
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., Michigan State University
American/Southern Economic History, 20th-Century American History, Catholic Church in 20th-Century
hsmvn@olemiss.edu

Harry Owens
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D, Florida State University

Elizabeth A. Payne
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Chicago
American Progressivism, Women, Religion
North Mississippi Women’s Oral History Project
“Makin’ Do” – A documentary film on the Women of North Mississippi
epayne@olemiss.edu

David G. Sansing
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi

Shelia L. Skemp
Clare Leslie Marquette Professor Emeritus of American History and Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Colonial and Revolutionary America, Intellectual, Women
sskemp@olemiss.edu

Jack Taylor
Associate Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., New York University
French Revolution and 19th-Century European History

Charles R. Wilson
Professor Emeritus of History and Southern Studies
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
crwilson@olemiss.edu