Arch Dalrymple III Department of History

University of Mississippi

Faculty

Mikaela Adams
Mikaëla M. Adams

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Native American History and Citizenship, 19th-and 20th-century South
Bishop Hall 337  |  662-915-1332
mmadams@olemiss.edu


Jesse Cromwell

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, The University of Texas at Austin
Colonial Latin America, Caribbean, Atlantic World, Trade and Migration
Bishop Hall 311  |  662-915-7105
cromwell@olemiss.edu


Oliver Dinius

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies & Executive Director of Croft Institute
Ph.D, Harvard University
Modern Latin America
Croft Institute 315  |  662-915-1500
dinius@olemiss.edu


Chiarella Esposito

Associate Professor & Associate Chair of History
Ph.D, Stony Brook University
Modern Europe, Economic & Diplomatic
Bishop Hall 314  |  662-915-7568
esposito@olemiss.edu

field
Garrett Felber

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, University of Michigan
African American History and Critical Prison Studies, 20th-century America 
Bishop Hall  328B  |  662-915-1968
felber@olemiss.edu

field
Lester L. Field, Jr.

Professor of History
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
Middle Ages and Late Antiquity, Cultural and Intellectual History
Bishop Hall 330  |  662-915-5667
hsfield@olemiss.edu


Joshua First

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies
Ph.D, University of Michigan
20th-century Russia
Bishop Hall 317  |  662-915-6946
jfirst@olemiss.edu



Shennette Garrett-Scott

Assistant Professor of History & African American Studies
Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin
African American Business and Gender, 19th- and 20th-century South
Longstreet Hall 304  |  662-915-5997
smgscott@olemiss.edu


Darren E. Grem

Associate Professor of History & Southern Studies
Ph.D, University of Georgia
Religion, Culture, Politics, U.S., Southern Studies
Bishop Hall 307  |  662-915-7734
degrem@olemiss.edu


April Holm

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, Columbia University
Religion and Sectionalism, Civil War Era in the United States
Bishop Hall 316 |  662-915-6945
aholm@olemiss.edu

howard
Joshua H. Howard

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies
Ph.D, University of California, Berkeley
Labor, Social and Cultural, Revolution, 20th-century China” for “East Asian History
Bishop Hall 313  |  662-915-5749
jhhoward@olemiss.edu

Ibrahim1
Vivian Ibrahim

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies 
Ph.D, University of London
Religion and Political Culture, Modern Egypt
Bishop Hall 320 |  662-915-1991
vibrahim@olemiss.edu

faculty-300x267
Zachary Kagan Guthrie

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Princeton University
Labor and Development Studies, Modern Mozambique
Bishop Hall 306  | 662-915-3314
zkguthri@olemiss.edu


Frances Kneupper

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Culture and Religion, Late Medieval Europe
Bishop Hall 304  |  662-915-1804
fckneupp@olemiss.edu


Marc H. Lerner

Associate Professor of History & Graduate Program Coordinator
Ph.D, Columbia University
Revolutionary Era, Early Modern Europe, Modern Europe
Bishop Hall 321  |  662-915-7529
mlerner@olemiss.edu


Theresa Levitt

Professor of History
Ph.D, Harvard University
History of Science and Technology, Enlightenment and Revolutionary France
Bishop Hall 323  |  662-915-3792
tlevitt@olemiss.edu


Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Modern Britain and Empire, Gender
Bishop Hall 312 | 662-915-3177
aslindgr@olemiss.edu


Rebecca Marchiel

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Urban History and Capitalism, 20th-century America
Bishop Hall 309  |  662-915-5360
rkmarchi@olemiss.edu

neff
John R. Neff

Associate Professor of History & Director of The Center for Civil War Research
Ph.D, University of California, Riverside
U.S. Civil War Era in the United States
Bishop Hall 322  |  662-915-3969
jneff@olemiss.edu


Ted M. Ownby

Professor of History & Southern Studies & Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Ph.D, Johns Hopkins University
Religion and Popular Culture, 19th- and 20th-century South
Barnard Observatory 209  |  662-915-5993
hsownby@olemiss.edu


Eva Payne

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Harvard University
Gender and Sexuality, 19th- and 20th-century America
Bishop Hall 318  |  662-915-7629
ebpayne@olemiss.edu



Paul J. Polgar

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, City University of New York Graduate Center
Slavery and Emancipation, 18th- and 19th-century America
Bishop Hall 319  |  662-915-2622
pjpolgar@olemiss.edu


Jarod Roll

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Labor and Social Movements, 19th- and 20th-century America
Bishop Hall 305  |  662-915-1260
jhroll@olemiss.edu

ross
Charles K. Ross

Professor of History & Director of the African American Studies Program
Ph.D, Ohio State University
African-American Sports, 20th-century South
Longstreet Hall 309  |  662-915-5978
cross@olemiss.edu


Mohammed Bashir Salau

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, York University, Canada
Islam and Slavery, Precolonial and Colonial Nigeria
Bishop Hall 335  |  662-915-5751
bashir@olemiss.edu


Susan Gaunt Stearns

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, University of Chicago
Political Economy and Western Expansion, Revolutionary America and the Atlantic World
Bishop Hall 328C |662-915-3176
sgstearn@olemiss.edu


Isaac Stephens

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, University of California, Riverside
Cultural and Political History, Early modern Britain
istephen@olemiss.edu


Douglass Sullivan-González

Professor of History & Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College
Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin
Politics and Religion, 19th-century Guatemala
SMBHC 105  |  662-915-7294
dsg@olemiss.edu


Peter Thilly

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D, Northwestern University
Legal Culture and Capitalism, Modern Asia
Bishop Hall 328A  |  662-915-7016
pdthilly@olemiss.edu

Trepanier
Nicolas Trépanier

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D, Harvard University
Foodways and Landscape Studies, Medieval Anatolia
Bishop Hall 315  |  662-915-5872
ntrepani@olemiss.edu


Anne Twitty

Associate Professor of History & Chair of the Undergraduate Committee
Ph.D, Princeton University
Slavery and the Law, Antebellum America
Bishop Hall 303  |  662-915-5360
atwitty@olemiss.edu

Watt2-257x300
Jeffrey R. Watt

Kelly Gene Cook Sr. Professor of History
Ph.D, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Early Modern Europe, Religion and Society, Reformation Switzerland
Bishop Hall 332  |  662-915-5805
hswatt@olemiss.edu


Jessica Wilkerson

Assistant Professor of History & Southern Studies
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Gender and Social Movements, 20th-century South
Bishop Hall 309A  |  662-915-3315
jcwilker@olemiss.edu


Noell Howell Wilson

Croft Associate Professor of History & International Studies & Department Chair
Ph.D, Harvard University
Asia, Maritime History
Bishop Hall 310  |  662-915-7148
nrwilson@olemiss.edu