skip to main content
Department of History
University of Mississippi

The Franklin Riley Prize

Best undergraduate paper prize.

This award memorializes Franklin L. Riley, Jr. (1868-1929), the first history professor at UM, where he taught from 1897- 1914. He was so revered by the students that upon leaving the university, the 1914-1915 yearbook was dedicated to him, describing Professor Riley as one ‘who never spoke but to inspire’.  Dr. Riley was credited with resuscitating the state’s historical society and was also instrumental in establishing the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.