skip to main content
Arch Dalrymple III Department of History
University of Mississippi

Emeriti

H. Dale Abadie
Dean Emeritus of the College of Liberal Arts & Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Britain and the Empire, European History
hdabadie@bellsouth.net

Charles W. Eagles
William Winter Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Recent U.S.
charlesweagles@gmail.com

Kees Gispen
Professor Emeritus of History & Executive Director Emeritus of the Croft Institute for International Studies
Ph.D., University of California, Berkley
hsgispen@olemiss.edu

Bob Haws
Associate Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Nebraska
hshaws@olemiss.edu

Fred Laurenzo
Associate Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana
hsfel@olemiss.edu

Michael Metcalf
Associate Provost Emeritus for International Affairs and Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden
18th-Century Scandinavian History
Chinese Language Flagship Program Committee Member
mmetcalf@olemiss.edu

Michael V. Namorato
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., Michigan State University
American/Southern Economic History, 20th-Century American History, Catholic Church in 20th-Century
hsmvn@olemiss.edu

Elizabeth A. Payne
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Chicago
American Progressivism, Women, Religion
North Mississippi Women’s Oral History Project
“Makin’ Do” – A documentary film on the Women of North Mississippi
epayne@olemiss.edu

Shelia L. Skemp
Clare Leslie Marquette Professor Emeritus of American History and Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Colonial and Revolutionary America, Intellectual, Women
sskemp@olemiss.edu

Jack Taylor
Associate Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., New York University
French Revolution and 19th-Century European History

Charles R. Wilson
Kelly Gene Cook  Professor Emeritus of History and Southern Studies
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
crwilson@olemiss.edu